Scholarships & Awards

Dr. Steve (z”l) and Evelyn Rosen Stars of Tomorrow Scholarship Program

Honoring the Past, Building the Future

MJSHF-Stars-of-Tomorrow-web-1The Michigan Jewish Sports Foundation is proud to sponsor the Dr. Steve (z”l) and Evelyn Rosen Stars of Tomorrow Scholarship Program High School Academic and Athletic Scholarship Program.

Steve Rosen was inducted into the Michigan Jewish Sports Foundation in 2009. Steve was a high school track star who won the county championship in the high jump and was the runner-up in the 180 yard hurdles. At the University of Michigan, he competed on the track team. As a varsity trackman, he placed in many dual meets and several invitational meets, and participated in the Big Ten Championships. He lettered in track at the University of Michigan in 1971. He went on to graduate from Wayne State Medical School and practiced Radiology from 1978-2006. He was a starter for the U.S.A. basketball squad in the 35-and-over division of the Maccabiah International Games in Israel in 1993. Steve continues to be involved with Michigan track as an official for the University of Michigan track program.

The Dr. Steve (z”l) and Evelyn Rosen scholarship program strives to build athletes for today’s competitive and academic environment. While not every athlete will make it to the big leagues, all who are recognized will have shown the passion and promise that personifies members of the Michigan Jewish Sports Hall of Fame, such as Hall of Fame Class of 2009 inductee, Steve Rosen.

This one-of-a-kind scholarship program is designed to assist Jewish High School Seniors who have dedicated themselves to achieving outstanding academics while also accomplishing and competing at the highest athletic level. Candidates will be judged by many factors including financial need, athletic, academic achievement, community service, and extra-curricular activities.

Every now and again there is an athlete that transcends the game. The Michigan Jewish Sports Hall of Fame’s first inductee, Hank Greenberg, whose dynamic life and legendary career in baseball, was just such an athlete. The Tiger great had the admiration of his teammates and his fans. When Hank grew up playing sand lot ball there were no baseball camps, training regimens or organized youth teams. He would play from sun up to sun down, honing his skills and sharpening his talents.

Stars of Tomorrow Scholarship 2023 Application
Download PDF Application | Use Online Application
Deadline is June 3, 2024

Stars of Tomorrow Recipients


  • Merrick Michaelson
  • Clay Hartje
  • Marnie Jacobs
  • Jenner Leib
  • Kaytlyn McPherson


  • Zachary Margolis


  • Gabriel Berke
  • Morgan Leib


  • Gabe Cohen
  • Ari Eizen


  • Allison Bloomberg
  • Matthew Blackman
  • Jordyn Cranis
  • Emma Green
  • Melissa Strome


  • Cameron Berke
  • Jared Char
  • Joshua Goldberg
  • Michael Gould
  • Alexis Michael
  • Brendon Newman
  • Ryan Rabinowitz
  • Marc Sable
  • Molly Wiener

JN Athlete of the Year

The highly competitive Jewish News High School Athlete of the Year awards are based on outstanding athletic achievement by male and female Jewish high school athletes from Michigan. Presented in conjunction with the Detroit Jewish News, our recipients have traditionally been graduating seniors recognized for their career accomplishments. Students can nominate themselves, be nominated by a coach and/or parent, or be nominated based on research conducted by the MJSF selection committee.

JN Athlete of the Year Application 2023
Download PDF Application | Use Online Application
Deadline is June 3, 2024

JN Athlete of the Year Past Recipients


  • Ella Blank
  • Clay Hartje
  • Noah Adamczyk


  • Sarah Calanchi


  • Danielle “Elle” Hartje
  • Mikaela Schulz
  • Danelle Wolfe
  • Josh Nodler


  • Jessica Stone
  • Benjamin Jacobson


  • Alexa Hartje
  • Jacqueline Spizizen
  • Jackson Ross


  • Eliza Brown
  • Marc Sable


  • Jonathan Rader, Bloomfield Hills High School
  • Emily Fisher, Detroit Country Day
  • Griffin Mertz. North Farmington High School


  • Dylan Deitch, Bloomfield Hills
  • Jacob Rothman, Berkley
  • Marlee Rothman, Berkley
  • Nikki Wald, North Farmington


  • Jake Slobin , Farmington Hills Harrison High School
  • Jennica Lurie, East Lansing High School
  • Molly Gelb, Ann Arbor Huron High School


  • Rachel Bergman, Detroit Country Day
  • Sydney Glanz, Walled Lake Central High School
  • Max Kollin, North Farmington High School


  • Elizabeth Gelb, Ann Arbor Huron
  • Stephen Slobin, Farmington Harrison


  • Matthew Felsenfeld
  • Jason Zucker
  • Allie Stein


  • Abigail Cohen, Cranbrook Schools
  • Eric Fishman, Cranbrook Schools
  • Eric Glanz, Walled Lake Central


  • Dustin Goldenberg, West Bloomfield High School
  • Janelle Greene, Pioneer High School
  • Mathew Broder, Cranbrook Kingswood
  • Danielle Dulberg , Seaholm High School


  • Jake Clark, Bloomfield Hills Lahser
  • Marissa Ash, Cranbrook/Kingswood


  • Gabriel Schubiner, Cranbrook/Kingswood
  • Andrea “AJ” Roberts, Cranbrook/Kingswood
  • Ross Tashjian, Catholic Central
  • Nurit Weizmam, Ann Arbor Huron


  • Seth Sanders, Ann Arbor Pioneer
  • Rebecca Nyquist, Cranbrook Kingswood
  • Meredith Milstein, West Bloomfield High School


  • Emily Jaffee, North Farmington High School
  • Samuel Siegel, Birmingham Seaholm


  • Emily Taxe, Andover High School
  • Matthew Field, Ann Arbor Greenhills


  • Kacee Must, Cranbrook/Kingswood
  • Gary Rosenberg, West Bloomfield High School


  • Ashley Abramson, West Bloomfield High School
  • Jack Gitler, Berkley High School
  • Jordan Gruber, Birmingham Groves


  • Sloan Eddleston, Cranbrook/Kingwood
  • Kimberly Spauldling, Farmington Harrison School


  • Blake Boesky, Farmington Harrison
  • Bradley Jaffee, North Farmington High School
  • Britni Must, Cranbrook/Kingswood


  • Matthew Ishbia, Birmingham Seaholm
  • Jodie Rosenberg, West Bloomfield High School


  • Carey Chicorel, West Bloomfield High School
  • Jerod Lutz, Andover High School


  • Nikki Berlin, Berkley High School
  • Storm Kirschenbaum, Birmingham Groves


  • Stacy Young, West Bloomfield High School
  • Brian Gurwin, Farmington Harrison High School


  • Abielle Schwartzberg, Berkley High School
  • Jared Miller, Andover High School
  • Ryan Fried, Berkley High School


  • Craig Colton, Andover High School
  • Beth Peisner, Detroit Country Day


  • Gabrielle Kepes, Berkley High School
  • Jason Horwitz, North Farmington High School


  • Ed Wolkind, Detroit Country Day
  • Heather Davis, Berkley High School